Itchenor sailor wins Prince of Wales Cup to become national champ

Douglas Pattison and Mark Tait in the thick of the action - theirs is the green spinnaker
Douglas Pattison and Mark Tait in the thick of the action - theirs is the green spinnaker

Douglas Pattison from Itchenor and Mark Tait have won the 2013 Prince of Wales Cup.

The Duchy Contracts-sponsored cup, a single race for the title of International 14 national champion, was sailed for in Falmouth Bay under the flag of Restronguet Sailing Club.

The race officer set a course of six laps of a sausage-triangle course.

The first beat turned out to be very one-sided, with the right paying and those who hit it hard coming out well in front. Sam Pascoe and Alex Knight led round the first windward mark, followed by Jamie Reid and George Harston in The Hoff.

Pattison and Tait rounded in third, with the first boat that had gone left up the beat at least tenth.

Down the first run, Dan Holman and Jeremy Elliot were flying and managed to sneak into the lead by the first leeward mark, closely followed by Pattison and Tait and others.

For the leading boats, the first leg of the triangle was tight but easily manageable and the second requiring gybes to get down to the leeward mark again.

Holman and Elliott continued to hold off their rivals, even extending their lead over the next couple of laps.

Through the middle laps of the race, reigning champions Ben McGrane and James Hughes crept up through the fleet having gone the wrong way up the first beat, but got stuck in fifth place.

Down the final run (fifth lap) the breeze dropped slightly and Pattison and Tait and Pascoe and Knight got the better of Holman and Elliott.

Pattison and Tait held their nerve for the two reaches of the last triangle to win the Prince of Wales Cup (for the helm) and the Torpoint Mosquito Trophy (for the crew) - being crowned national champions.

For the remainder of the trophies, Katie Nurton (sixth) just held out former Chichester Olympic sailor Christina Bassadone (seventh) to win the Morgan Giles Challenge Bowl and Nora Chichester Smith Trophy for the first lady and first helmswoman in the Prince of Wales Cup.

The top six in the race will all be presented replicas of the Prince of Wales Cup, with the crews being eligible for lifelong membership to the crews’ union.

Free beer was provided after sailing by Oceanair and the Itchenor fleet sponsored a second barrel at the evening beach party.