Four rugby trophies for Chichester youngsters - now they want another

Chichester under-tens celebrate their latest triumph
Chichester under-tens celebrate their latest triumph

Chichester Rugby Club under-tens have had a fantastic season, bringing home four trophies so far and with the Vectis tournament on the Isle of Wight bringing the promise of a fifth.

A dedicated coaching programme of inclusive rugby under head coach Gavin Young has enabled the under-tens to have an extensive number of players that other clubs lack - with more than 16 able to compete for a first-team place.

In their second year of contact rugby, the uncder-tens have shown themselves to be a hugely-strong defensive team, with tries rarely scored against them, and they possess a fantastic running attack.

Despite a season littered with cancelled training and game sessions because of the weather, the boys took their first trophy home with a conquering unbeaten win at the Petersfield Festival, running in 15 tries with only one try scored against them in four matches.

The Pulborough festival brought home the bowl trophy, with only five tries scored against them in the competition against the top Sussex teams.

A clean sweep of wins over local rivals for the Midhurst Cup - comfortably beating Midhurst and Bognor, without a single try scored against them - saw Chichester win the local triangular tournament.

At the biggest tournament of the year, the West Sussex Cup, the under-tens ran out heavy winners against Crawley and Horsham, winning 4-0 and 6-0 respectively.

They followed that with a 1-1 draw with Pulborough Cup winners Pulborough, a 1-1 draw against Haywards Heath in the semi-final (losing on a final place after a countback), leaving them to compete for the Bowl trophy against Worthing, where the boys secured a 1-1 draw, winning the trophy on countback.

That made it an unbeaten day with 13 tries scored and only three conceded.

All the tournaments have been played with a mixture of boys in each team. They include Sid Lewis, Louis Blanshard, Freddie Slater, Antonio and Nicky de Brunner, Gabriel Barwick, Ed Minto, James Nutting, Jack McCulloch, Patrick Mayhew, George Fountain, Toby Young, Charlie Cameron, Callum Budd, Sam Boiardini, Alex Evans, Alex Gillespie, Ben Jameson, James Carter, Kiniviliame Nawai, Thomas Lowe, Ben Sizmur, Eddie Tyler, Izaak Quinton, Alfie Wakelfield and Luca Nutt.

The squad are sponsored by GoApe.