Dell Quay sailors close in on Frostbite honours

Running back to the first mark in the Frostbite series  Picture by Avril Sargent
Running back to the first mark in the Frostbite series Picture by Avril Sargent

A beautiful sunny day with light but variable breezes made for a great day’s sailing in the final two races of the Dell Quay SC Frostbite series.  

For the first race, most of the fleet favoured the club end of the start line where the incoming flood tide was strongest. First over the line was Malcolm Buchanan (Solo) followed closely by a small group of leading boats.

Avoiding the many moored yachts, the fleet made their way towards Fishbourne and the first mark. Buchanan (Solo) and the RS400 team of Peter King and Jamie Pescott were first to round the mark, followed by David Swift (Solo).

The leaders had the advantage of starboard tack as they doubled back through the approaching remainder of the fleet. A long, close haul followed with different routes being taken to avoid the tide and the wind light for much of the race, sometimes dropping to nothing.  

After rounding the second mark, the fleet took a reach across the harbour to the third mark and then embarked on a run back towards the first mark. Throughout the race, the asymmetrics overhauled the slower boats making it hard to determine who was in the lead on corrected time.

The final results, corrected for handicap, gave Buchanan first place with Ken Baker and Ron Warren (Yachting World Day Boat) in second place and David Swift coming in third.

At the start of the second race, with the tide now ebbing, first over the line were several single-handers. Once again, moored yachts provided the opportunity for some tactical manoeuvring, with those boats taking the easterly route managing to round the first mark ahead of the rest of the fleet.

Once again, variable wind strengths and directions made for challenging racing as the fleet completed two laps of the course, giving first place to the RS400 team of Chris Rowsell and Jason Mortimer, second place to Buchanan and third place to Swift.

The winner of the Frostbite series was confirmed as Bill Dawber (Solo), with Buchanan (Solo) second and Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer in third place overall.