Darts captains and secretaries are in knockout form

The captains and secretaries’ knockouts for the Friday Night Summer League drew 15 players apiece and saw some well-contested darts.

In the captains’ event, 2010 winner Colin Mace (POW Z) went out to Monica Roberts (POW B) in the first round.

The first semi-final saw Derek Longhurst (Royal Oak B) take on in-form Alex Norgett (Newtown SC A), who duly made the final.

The second was between last year’s winner Adi Linfield (Chi Snooker C) and Arnie Elout (BRSA B) in his first season after many years away from the league.

Linfield showed why he won the title last year to get through.

Despite both playing in division three, the pair put on some great darts. The first leg went to Linfield, but the second went to Norgett despite a 180 from Linfield at the start of the leg.

The third leg saw on-the-trot tons from both players.

After 15 darts each there was ten points in it. Linfield missed his doubles, but so did Norgett, letting Linfield finish on double five to take the title for the second year.

In the secretaries knockout, 2010 winner Sam Abrehart (POW Z), trying for his fifth summer title, took on Steve Aizlewood (BRSA B) – looking for his second title – in the first semi-final. Out-of-form Abrehart lost.

The second semi-final was between Gary Blackwood (Claremont Cobras) and Mary Roberts (Richmond Rebels).

Roberts didn’t have anything to beat Blackwood, who is the No1 in the league and 100-plus places higher in the averages.

In the final, tons came from both players in the first leg but the doubles deserted Aizlewood, who let Blackwood through.

The second leg was close too, but Blackwood gave no chance for Aizlewood to do anything. Blackwood took the game and the title 2-0.