Chichester’s new sailing contest is Turbo-charged

editorial image

Warm sunshine and a shifting breeze welcomed 22 boats to Chichester Yacht Club for their new Youth Turbo event.

In the Feva class, racing was close and competitive. Anna Prescott and Jess Eales (HISC), their siblings James Eales and Katie Prescott (R Lymington and HISC) and the two CYC boats of Olivia Winther and Hattie Culver and Emily Proud and Pippa Williams had nail-biting tactical battles.

Elliot Wells and Jake Todd (HISC) posted five straight firsts to win the event.

Ross Watkins (CYC) sailed well at his first event crewed by sister Olivia. Beth Breach and Jessica Wilkinson from Felpham were rewarded for finishing all races with the Endeavour Award. Second were Anna and Jess, third were siblings James and Katie.

The Topper fleet was swelled by a team of Felpham visitors. Chichester boats dominated the podium, with two tie-breaks in the top seven.

The Endeavour award for valiant battling went to Zack Attree (CYC). First visitor was Mitchell Campbell (Felpham) in fifth.

The worthy winner, with a string of second places and two race wins, was Jessica Carter (CYC), a new Topper squad member. Second was Ben Thompson, third Elliot Williams, fourth Hannah Thompson.

Chichester YC plan to repeat this format event in 2012.

A total of 15 Mirrors gathered at Chichester YC for the fifth and last event in the Southern Travellers series.

Isobel Davies and Johnnie Law (Itchenor SC) sailed consistently after the first race and won with two firsts, two seconds and a fourth. They showed spectacular downwind speed at times.

Grace Yeoman and Izzy Barker (ISC) notched two firsts and were in the hunt for the title until an unfortunate wind shift in the last race put them down the fleet, leaving them fifth overall. Second place was secured by Nigel Thomas and Millie Moss (Hillhead SC) ahead of Madelaine and Harriet Watkins (Poole YC). Fourth overall was Jo Kalderon & Elanor Kiers (ISC).

The Birdham Barrel autumn series, involving sailors from Chichester and Dell Quay, ended on the final day of the recent Indian summer.

In the Laser 2000 fleet, 17 boats were sailed during the series and Pete and Suzi Harrison (CYC) won both races and were also named series winners, equalling pre-race leaders and absentees Anne and Jim Norfolk (DQSC) on points. 

Third in the series were Chris Hodge and Louise Varley (CYC), fourth Helen and Mark Green (CYC) Among the Lasers and Radials, 13 boats took part. The final races were dominated by double winner Ben Crystal of DQSC.

Series victor was Chris Spencer (CYC) ahead of John Crawley (CYC)

The Solos had 12 entries over the series. Bill Dawber (DQSC) had two firsts to clinch the series.

Chichester boats fought it out for the lower places, with Peter Hughes second in the series, Patrick Johnson (CYC) third and Roger Millet (CYC) fourth.

The handicap Fleet had a turnout of 24 but the RS200 sailed by Meryl Deane and Ian Payne from CYC was the only boat to qualify as series winners with enough races.

In the final day’s first race the Rooker team’s Wayfarer beat the RS400 of Malcolm and Jean Buchanan before the Buchanans and Deane and Payne had a good battle, with Deane and Payne fastest on the water.

Chichester YC’s winter series starts on Sunday.

Following the success of two split series last winter, the Frozen Toe races take place before Christmas with eight races finishing on December 11 and a ten-race Snowflake series running from January to March.

It’s an open series and dinghy sailors are welcome. The fast, medium and slow fleets can include 70 to 100 boats from a variety of classes.

In 2010-11 many of the competitors were young people trying out their newly-acquired skills in beautiful if chilly conditions.

The variable winds & tide make for interesting racing. Chichester Yacht Club works hard to ensure Entry forms are available on arrival or from the club on 01243 512918.

Full details and dates are available at

Club secretary Martin Buckley will be available to assist anyone with an interest in taking up sailing.

On Sunday, a formal briefing at 11am is followed by the start of racing at midday.