Bowls prize goes to Infinity - not beyond

The Infinity team who won the county fours
The Infinity team who won the county fours

West Sussex held their County Fours championship at the weekend and 19 teams from around the county competed for the Neil Harris Cup.

After the round robin games the quarter-finals saw Bognor just edge out Infinity II by 6-5, Southbourne beat Upper Beeding 7-4, The Martlets beat Nyetimber 7-2 and Infinity defeat Southbourne II 11-2.

The semi-finals matched the Bognor team of Ricky Greco, Roger Brown, Pam Andrews and Clive Andrews against the Southbourne four of Karen Alner, Dave Walter, Andy Smith and Dave Alner and The Martlets team of Barrie Fitch, Chris Blackman, Mel Lillywhite and Marc Lancaster against Infinity’s Jonathan Clear, Ben Haulkham, Charlotte Rollings and Chris Page.

Southbourne quickly took the lead against Bognor and pulled away for a victory by 11-3. The other game was much closer with Infinity taking the lead in the final stages to leave The Martlets trying to kill the last end but failing and losing 10-6.

In the final at the end of a long day, Southbourne never really got going and Infinity dominated the game to win 8-2 and take the title.


In the Yetton Trophy versus the Isle of Wight, Arun ladies won 99-51.

Scores: Home teams: I Brooker, S Stocker, S Judd & B Spicer won 24-15; V Greenaway, J Taffurelli, B Collins & A Janman won 34-8; Away teams: C Hobbs, D Latter, W Adams & S Miles won 25-12, E Fitch, M Phillips, G Conley & M Richards drew 16-16.

They now meet Victory IBC in the next round.

In two friendly fixtures, Arun entertained Dolphins IBC and Croydon IBC, winning both matches – 150-71 and 122-105 respectively.


Nyetimber had a close-fought match against Lavant Green with one rink going into the last end with equal points and the other having equal points at the 19th end.

The result was a win for Nyetimber on both mats.

Scores: P Mussell, K Young, B Crew and C Searle won 21-19; A Crew, T Mussell, D Young and A Booker won 15-14 (friendly): C Smith, B Sayers, G Rump and B Boiling lost 23-14.


TWO Crablands teams are in the same division this year and in their latest game, Bitterns were the home team against Cormorants. Cormorants won 50-23 in the league match to take six points. The Bitterns won the friendly mat.

Captain of the Cormorants was Martin Hunt and Roy Tolhurst was the Bitterns captain.

Scores (Cormorants names first): Denise Merritt, Terry Axworthy, Les Jewiss and Joyce Heritage beat Meg Pocock, Brian Berry, Trevor Wilson and Peter Blackman 20-13; Joyce Abel, Jan Obermayer, Mollie Back and Martin Hunt beat Jean Tolhurst, Iris Brown, Geoff Brown and Roy Tolhurst 30-10; (friendly): Tony Heritage, Marion Hatch, Rod Shambrook and Reg Hatch lost 19-14 to Eddie Willcocks, Les Howland, Lil Tuck and Jim Saunders.

Crablands Avocets continue to struggle in their away games – at Walberton they gained only one point compared to the hosts’ five.

Avocets’ point came from the team of Harry Stead, Peter Latchford, Don Jonas and Bill Merritt fighting back strongly after being 19-3 down halfway through the match.

Scoring 18 shots in the remaining ten ends they drew n 22-22 after taking 2wo shots on the final end.

Not so fortunate on the other mat, Celia Foot, Sylvia Gray, Dave Harding and Alan Foot were down by seven shots before getting on to the scorecard and being restricted to one or two shots per end on the remaining winning ends, they lost 22-14.

Fellow Cormorants Denise Merritt, Marion Hatch, Reg Hatch and Wally Obermayer, playing on the friendly mat, again had an easy time of things winning 39-12.


The preliminary rounds of the Pairs Cup were played on Sunday

In the morning session, first were Alvar Etherington and Simon Herbert with eight points (+16 shots); second were Bernard Adsett and Joan Goodchild with six points (+5); third David Luxford and Colin Long with two points (0 shots).

In the afternoon, first were Gina Barnfield and Veronica Maher with six points (+10) ahead of Pauline Gilpin and Eileen Warrington with six points (+8) and third-placed Tony Broughton and Audrey Hodgson on four points (+17).


Lavant 54 West Dean 45

The first leg of the battle for the Sid Hitchman Trophy was held on the short mats of Lavant.

Lavant were the overall winners by nine shots. Lavant won on two mats and West Dean the other.

The second leg will be played on the green in West Dean Gardens during the 2016 outdoor season.

Scores: Yvonne Squires, Clare Beardmore, Jim Sharrod [s] won 22-12; John Butterworth, Pam Sharrod, Tony Boxall [s] lost 18-13; Pam Patterson, Ann Hiscock, David Turner [s] lost 24-10. cccc



Petworth Bowls Club held their annual presentation evening at The Stonemason’s Arms, Petworth, where 25 members and partners enjoyed a buffet supper to round off an enjoyable year for the club.

Cups were presented as follows: Tithe Barn Cup - Triples - Eileen Warrington, Selwyn Hall and Alan Potter; Jack and Altie Baxter Cups - Pairs Runners-up - Mick Monk, Dennis Caiger; Pulling and Mant Cups - Pairs Winners - Carol Hall and Bob Turner; Denman Cup - Runner-up - Richard Stevens; Winner - Dennis Caiger; Warren Cup (Handicap) Runner-up - Dennis Caiger; Winner Alan Potter; ill Elford Cup - Two Woods Runner-up - Dennis Caiger; General Burnett Cup - Two Woods Winner - Selwyn Hall; Wooden Bowl - Veterans’ Runner-up - Alan Potter; Calder Cup - Veterans’ Winner - Eileen Warrington; Wright Cup - Runner-up - Carol Hall ; Winner - Mick Monk; Peggy Cross Cup - Ladies’ Championship Runner-up - Eileen Warrington; 1932 Committee Cup - Ladies’ Championship Winner - Carol Hall; Len Cross Cup - Men’s Championship Runner-up - Alan Potter; Morgan Cup - Men’s Championship Winner - Bob Turner.

The club would welcome new members next season, of either sex and any level of experience. If you are interested in playing on a lovely carpet surface and enjoying our hospitable clubhouse and bar, please ring club secretary Eileen Warrington on 01798 342766.


Midhurst Bowling Club held their annual presentation dinner at Cowdray Park Golf Club and it was attended by 48 members.

Pictured are the ladies’ captain Margaret Sole and men’s captain Gerald Dixon, who jointly won the Norry & Shirley Cup for the mixed

pairs and individually the Tatchel Cup men’s singles and the Pescod Cup ladies’ singles.

Retiring club president Peter West made the presentation.

Treasurer Malcolm Hutchings was presented with the President’s Cup for his exceptional services to the club during the past year.

The club will hold their annual meeting at the Memorial Hall, Midhurst, on Tuesday, November 24 at 7.30pm.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking sports news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be among the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

Share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!