Golf: Plenty of players - and winners - in Cowdray seniors’ open

editorial image

Cowdray Park seniors’ open was a resounding success for new organiser David Imlach, who attracted 96 players – 32 home members accompanying 64 visitors from 39 different clubs, 19 of whom were new to Cowdray Park.

These figures are excellent in these stringent economic times.

The first group playing off the first tee contained eventual winner Colin Crassing from Leatherhead, who was making his first visit to the course.

His score of 40 points was equalled by Mike Snuggs from Chichester, but the verdict went to Crassing on countback.

On the tenth tee, the first group out contained local man Graham Evans, who recorded an excellent score of 37 points and looked likely to win the Harvey Terry Trophy for the best home player.

But in the penultimate group, John Start trumped Evans with 38 points.

There was a hole-in-one from Cowdray’s Frank Cheevers on the 11th hole and he generously donated £50 to the day’s charity – the Mary How Trust.

Other prize-winners: 3rd prize – Ted Taylor (RAC), 4th (last year’s winner) – Gerald Brunton-Smith (Bramley), 5th – Alan Cooper (Foxhills), 6th – former Cowdray Captain Dennis Geall (Liphook); Over-70s – Dave Hirons (Cowdray); Nearest the pins: 3rd, Alan Austin (Petersfield), 9th, Chris Crook (Hassocks), 11th, Frank Cheevers (Cowdray), 17th, John Wills (Mannings Heath).

The raffle, run by Carol Hummerston and Sheila Harrison, raised more than £500 for the charity, while Brian Brockhurst and Pat Harrison dealt with registrations and scorecards.

The day culminated in the presentation of the prizes by seniors’ captain Bill Hummerston, who thanked all the helpers, while all competitors agreed that the course had been presented in superb condition by Jonathan Smith and his greenkeeping staff.

Cowdray Park seniors’ captain and vice-captain’s challenge for June came from Brian Brockhurst and Dave Darby.

After losing their first two challenges of 2012, Bill Hummerston and Allen Sibley have won all matches since.

The challengers started well, with Dave Darby parring the first four holes to give them an early lead and by the turn they were still two up.

But Hummerston and Sibley dug in and, with Sibley winning the 13th, 14th and 16th, they took the lead. The 17th was halved before Hummerston sank his putt to seal victory on the 18th.

The vanquished challengers have requested a re-match but paid up for the captain’s charity, the Mary How Trust.

Forty-one Cowdray ladies played in the EWGA Medal/Diamond Jubilee Trophy.

Results: Div 1 - Barbara Parker 73, Tessa Stockwell 74, Mandy Lucking 75; Div 2 - Margaret Curwood 75, Jenny Clegg 80, Fran Bune 81; Div 3 - Helen Chapman 81, Mary Morling 84, Maureen Bailey 85.


Bognor won their county Cyril Blake Cup quarter–final against West Hove 2½-1½.

Bognor were originally drawn at home but the course was closed and it had to be played away.

Stuart Bell and David Burden won, as did Ron Stevens and Gary Steventon. Derek Dady and Simon Watts lost.

Last pair Jim Catt and Peter Lott were three down after the 15th but won the last three holes to achieve a half, giving Bognor the match.

In the semi-final Bognor will play the East Sussex national team at Worthing on August 13.

After losing a number of away games, the veterans achieved a creditable 4½-3½ win at Worthing.

Scores: A Fitzgerald & R Braham won 1 up, D Turner & H Diaper lost 6&5, F Hodder & M Oates lost 6&5, J Barker & P Collins halved, J Woodhead & A Delves won 4&3, R Hedge & C Millett won 2&1, R Stevens & V Ward won 4&3, T Wells & D Sheath lost 2&1.

The weather and the course at Corhampton were excellent but the home side were too good for Bognor and won 5-3.

Scores: R Selway & R Leverton won 2up, M Henry & B Baylis lost 4&3, T Wells & B Moore lost 2 down, G Steventon & R Horton won 2 up, C Millett & V Ward lost 2 down, M Wilson & D Hollis lost 5&3, G O’Neill & P Collins won 4&3, B Bennett & J Cookson lost 5&4.

Away to Cowdray Park, the course had recovered quickly from recent rain. Cowdray won 6½-1½, avenging their defeat earlier in the season at Bognor.

Peter Lott and Vic Ward won 3&2, following seven halved holes.

Eleven took part in the junior club captain’s Junior Trophy over a shortened course of 11 holes. After starting with two bogey holes, Jordan Vincent, who plays off three, won by shooting a three under gross round, giving him 31 points.

Scott Bingham was second on 29, Tom Stoneham third on 26. Nearest the pin on the second was Bingham, while Vincent was nearest on the fifth, 15th and 17th.

The juniors played ta John Bury Plate match against Chichester, with an eight-man team playing a foursomes better-ball format.

Chichester field only five players so had to concede two matches. Jake Stoneham & Jack Taylor won their match 8&7 and Jordan Vincent & Scott Bingham won 7&6 - both playing brilliantly.

Sixty-three ladies entered a Stableford.

Results: Silver – 1 Lynn Miller 38pts, 2 Suzanne Taylor 35, 3 Ann Bushell 34, 4 Denise Pratt 31 ocb. Bronze A – Jane Russell 35, Janice Eder 31 ocb, Sara Stoneham 31, Kay Dady 30. Bronze B – Sally Cameron 35, Jill Gill 29, Pat Fitzgerald 27. Vets – Joan Partridge 27, Doris Thomas 23 ocb, Pauline Littlejohns 23.

Alistair Murray, Bognor’s captain, went to the club fully prepared to postpone his Captain’s Day because of the severe storm that had struck during the night which had almost swamped the course for a second time in a fortnight.

But he decided the show must go on and 115 competitors, including many ladies, took part in ever-improving weather conditions over 16 holes.

The winner of the men’s competition was Darren Longhurst with 36 points. Second was Den Burgess on 35, third Adrian Smith on 34. The scratch winner was Dave Hicks on 35 and Rod Searle won the seniors’ competition on 35.

Nearest the pins were won by Alan Entecott, Andy Issitt, Taff Coulton and Dominic Rainey. Teresa Byrne was the ladies’ winner with 35 points, ahead of Dawn Heath on 34. Wendy Johnson was nearest the fifth pin.


Magnificent efforts by the green staff enabled the Chichester veterans’ championship to go ahead on schedule just a week after the floods. Some 60 vets took part, playing the Tower course on the Monday and the Cathedral course two days later.

Harry Harper became vets’ champion for the second time, well ahead of Norman Moore who was runner-up for the third time. In the nett competition, recent member Bev Shrives-Wrist triumphed with Phil Couchman a close second.

Results: Championship gross: Vets champion – Harry Harper 172; 2 Norman Moore 179; 3 Brian Melbourn 181; 4 Nick Hobbs 183. Championship nett: Winner – Bev Shrives-Wrist 145; 2 Phil Couchman 147; 3 Ray Harding 148 (countback); 4 Peter Green 148.


Alan Dabinett won the Stableford with 35 points, while the midweek medal was won by Robert Kuszka with a nett 70.

The midweek Stableford was won by Norman Turner with 39 points.

The club Stableford was taken by Timothy Grinstead with 40 points. Division-two winner was Mark Walker with 42. The senior Stableford was won in division one by William Billson with 41 points and in division two by Brian Morgan with 39.