16 matches without a win - but still no Pompey record

Izale McLeod is mobbed by his Pompey team-mates after scoring in the win against Shrewsbury
Izale McLeod is mobbed by his Pompey team-mates after scoring in the win against Shrewsbury

It’s a 16-match winless streak which stretches back to October – but not yet a Blues record.

A 3-1 success over Shrewsbury 103 days ago represents the last time a Pompey side tasted victory.

Yet they are still short of the post-war record of 19 games without a win in all competitions.

That came in the 1975-76 season when Ian St John was at the helm of a division two campaign which would ultimately see the Blues relegated.

From September 6, 1975, until December 12, they failed to win a match in all competitions.

That included two League Cup second-round games, with Pompey going out in a replay.

In total, there were 13 defeats in those 19 matches, including nine successive losses.

However, that ended on December 13, with a 1-0 success at Nottingham Forest – Robert McGuinness the scorer.

A certain Chris Kamara made his debut during that wretched run, as did future England international Steve Foster.

Despite eight more wins, including one over Birmingham in the FA Cup, St John’s men finished bottom with 25 points from their 42 fixtures.

Moving on to 1999-2000 and Pompey racked up 15 matches without victory in all competitions.

Alan Ball was the manager when they lost 4-2 at Manchester City on November 3, 1999.

That heralded a winless run which stretched to January 28 and included an FA Cup defeat at Sunderland.

It was ended when Steve Claridge grabbed a hat-trick in a 3-0 victory over Barnsley at Fratton Park.

By that stage, Tony Pulis had come in as manager earlier in the month, as Milan Mandaric wielded the axe.

Of those 15 matches, though, no more than four losses had been in successive matches. The Blues’ club record of league games without a win stands at 24, set in the 1958-59 season.

Yet there were two victories in four FA Cup matches during that period from November 29, 1958, until April 25, 1959.

In terms of winless runs in all competitions, the tally was 14.

Although, it would not be until August 26 the following season before the next win – the second fixture in.