Defensive frailties continue as Rocks lose again

It proved to be third-time unlucky for winless Bognor as their search for a maiden Ryman premier victory continued after an entertaining – but ultimately disappointing – 4-3 defeat to Maidstone at Nyewood Lane.

The home side looked good early on when a mistake from Sonny Miles allowed Darren Wheeler to cut the ball back for Alex Parsons but the shot was well saved by Lee Morgan.

Harry Medway on the ball for the Rocks against Maidstone  Picture by Chris Hatton

Harry Medway on the ball for the Rocks against Maidstone Picture by Chris Hatton

Rocks took the lead when WHEELER used his pace to get behind the Maidstone defence and fire a low shot into the net.

The visitors equalised two minutes later, though, when Alex BROWN nodded in from close range.

The Stones then turned the game on its head to take the lead with five minutes left of the half.

Steve WATT headed low into the net as the Rocks struggled to deal with the visitors’ deep crosses.

Bognor were level shortly after the break.

Parsons was brought down in the Maidstone area, allowing Ben JOHNSON - in his first apperance of the season - to take the resulting spot-kick and slam it into the net.

The game wasn’t level for long, though, as Maidstone regained the advantage just after the hour mark.

The ball found its way easily to Frannie COLLIN who composed himself before slotting past the outstretched hand of Chris Wintertom.

Frustrations grew in the Rocks camp as rash tackles started to fly in.

But the visitors extended their lead as Winterton failed to deal with a cross in a crowded penalty area and Jay MAY increased the visitors’ advantage.

Maidstone could have had a fifth after neat work broke down when Collin’s goal was disallowed for offside.

The Rocks pulled a goal back when PARSONS fired low in the last minute of the game and with time running out Jamie Howell’s men were unable to clinch an unlikely late point.

They’ll aim to open their points account for the season at Hendon on Monday.

Bognor: Winterton, Hinshelwood, Medway, Tuck, Obamwonyi, Robson, Oatway, Thomson, Parsons, Johnson, Wheeler. Subs: Whyte, Pearce, Morey, Hayes, Boyle.