Buoyant Billingshurst beat Bognor

Bognor’S unbeaten run in Sussex division three west ended against title hopefuls Billingshurst.

After they elected to bowl, Bognor opening bowler Graham Bush (1-42) had Mike Burroughs caught behind.

Billingshurst fought back with overseas all-rounder Dhanushka Mitipolaarachchi playing well.

Paceman Jim Lee brought Bognor’s second wicket before Billingshurst’s centurions of the previous week, Mitipolaarachchi and Carleon Brome, found themselves together once more.

Mitipolaarachchi sent the ball to all parts with attacking strokeplay while Brome (23) supported until Elliot Clarke found his outside edge. Billy Harris and Mitipolaarachchi found the boundary before young pace bowler Josh Broad (2-24) stemmed the flow.

Broad disposed of Harris (30) and Mitipolaarachchi, bowled for 88 off 98 balls.

Billingshurst were out for 223 after their last five wickets fell quickly, with Australian bowler Sam Taylor (4-36) claiming four.

Bognor lost Clarke early to Kelly Russell and runs were hard to come by for Max Ashmore and Robert Willway. Ashmore (14) was caught at silly mid-wicket. Willway was run out for 29 by Mitipolaarachchi.

Bognor lost further wickets attempting to up the rate and Mitipolaarachchi as he claimed middle-order wickets. Luke Seward (29) was undone by Mitipolaarachchi, who trapped Bush (4) and Lee (3) lbw.

Only Josh Seward showed resilience against the turning ball ending on 25 not out.

Mitipolaarachchi (5-27) starred but Harris (2-23) claimed the final wicket of Broad.

Bognor seconds had an excellent six-wicket win over Billinghurst twos. A magnificent seven for 32 from Rich Cox with able support from Charlie La Foret (2-17) saw Billingshurst bowled out for 101.

Skipper Ricky McIntosh saw Bognor home with 55 not out.