UPDATE: More schools set to close during strike action

SCHOOLS across the Bognor Regis area will shut as teachers take part in strike action.

Members of the National Union of Teachers (NUT) and the National Association of Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers (NASUWT) plan to strike in a row over pay, pension and workloads on Thursday, October 17.

So far nine full and partial closures have been announced in the Bognor area.

The Regis School will be closed to Years 7,8,9 and 10, but will be open for Years 11,12 and 13.

Felpham Community College will be shut to all pupils in Years 7 to 10.

Year 11 and sixth form is open and students will follow a partial timetable and private study.

While Westergate Community School will only be open for Year 11 students.

Nyewood C of E Infant School will be closed for classes, Chestnut, Hawthorn, Holly, Oak and Willow.

Yapton C of E Primary School will be completely closed due to strike action.

Bishop Tufnell C of E Junior School and Aldingbourne Primary School will also be shut.

The Catkin Class (Reception, Years 1 and 2) at Slindon C of E Primary School will not be accepting pupils. All other classes will be open.

The Bognor Regis Nursery School will be closed to all children who access the 15 hours free entitlement but it will remain open to all children who access extended services (hours in addition to 3 hours free entitlement) and our under 3’s provision.

The nursery’s children’s centre services will remain unaffected.

The strike action is part of a regional round of strikes.

One of the key issues of this wave of industrial action centres on the Department for Education’s desire to extend performance-related pay for teachers, giving more power to head teachers to reward staff. The teaching unions say that without clear rules, such a system would be open to abuse.

Decisions about whether to close a school for the day are taken by individual head teachers and governing bodies.

Details of any further closures will be added to West Sussex County Council website – www.westsussex.gov.uk – as soon as they are known.