Observer Community Awards 2013

THE unsung heroes of the community were celebrated at the Observer Community Awards last night.

Held this year in association with Goodwood-based Rolls Royce, the awards recognised the people who deserve acknowledgement for their valuable and tireless contribution to the wider community.

Nominees and  recipients of the Observer Awards '''Picture by Louise Adams C131699-28

Nominees and recipients of the Observer Awards '''Picture by Louise Adams C131699-28

Regional television presenter Fred Dinenage hosted the festive evening, which was held at Butlins in Bognor Regis.

A whole host of inspiring and heart-rending stories of real community spirit were discovered during the evenin.

Observer editor Colin Channon said: “The awards are one of my favourite events during the year. Each year we hear about some amazing people, their achievements, the time they give to helping others and the extra mile people go to make other people’s lives better.

“This year’s awards were no different. There were some very moving stories and incredibly worthy winners and I would like to say a big congratulations to everyone involved.

“It is always good to be able to recognise this work in public.”

The winners

Best Coach - Hailey Hodd and Jake Curran

Biggest Contribution to Arts in the Community - Regis Centre

Sports Team of the Year - Bognor Regis Town FC

Best Sportsperson - Brian Towner

Best School - The Regis School

School Star - Rose Simmons

Mini Hero - Finnan Campbell

Shirley Henry Best Volunteer - Debbie Marsh

Best Local Voluntary/ Charity - City Angels

Hero to Animals - Richard Edwards

Super Senior - Marjorie Bishop

Best Community Person - Wendy Morris

Outstanding Bravery - Charlie Oldfield and Dylon Tillyard

Voice of the Community - Ian ‘Fergie’ Ferguson

Best Community Event - Selsey Lifeboat Week

Special Recognition - Phil Packer

Editor’s Choice - Festival of Chichester committee

Observer Award for Special Achievement - Daniel Nagle

For all the pictures and interviews with the winners, see next week’s Observer (Thursday 19)