Council cabinet changes for 2013-14

CHANGES in Rother District Council’s Cabinet are due to be formalised at next Monday evening’s annual meeting of the full council at Bexhill town hall.

Cllr Mrs Bridget George, who held a portfolio for strategic planning, will be the leading Conservative group’s nomination for vice-chairman for the next Civic Year.

Her cabinet role will pass to Cllr Paul Osborne, hitherto chairman of the Services Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

Cllr Martin Kenward is likely to pursue the chairmanship left vacant by Cllr Osborne as he leaves the cabinet to join both the services overview and resources overview scrutiny committees.

His portfolio of culture, tourism and leisure will pass to Cllr Bob White, who had previously led on housing and older people.

This was a portfolio previously held by Cllr Mrs Joy Hughes, and she will return to it on stepping down as chairman of the council.

Her successor as chairman is to be Cllr Ian Jenkins, while Cllr Carl Maynard remains as leader of the Conservative controlled council.